India's first chess features print magazine published quarterly from Lucknow since 2004 by Aspire Welfare Society.

Thursday, November 22, 2012

Fujairah Chess Open: Ganguly, Chanda, Moiseenko Tie for First

FUJAIRAH (UAE): Grandmasters Surya Shekhar Ganguly and Sandipan Chanda settled for a quick draw and shared first place along with Alexander Moiseenko of Ukraine in the Fujairah International Open Chess tournament that concluded on Wednesday.

There was an added incentive for Ganguly after the ties were resolved as he had the best tie-break score among three players tied for the top slot. The Indian rose back to form from this tournament and stands to gain around 20 rating points which certainly is a huge gain at present level. Sandipan finished third overall after a bad start and was also visibly pleased with his excellent results that included victories over the top two seeds - Baadur Jobava of Georgia and Liem Le Quang of Vietnam.

The hard work was done in the penultimate round played last night by the Indian duo as Sandipan accounted for Quang while Ganguly crushed Mikheil Mchedlishvili of Georgia. The two along with Sergey Fedorchuk of Ukraine shared the lead on six points apiece and the Ukrainian went down to Quang in the final round.

The three joint winners scored 6.5 points in all and got a little over $10,000 apiece as prize money for their efforts. Ganguly started the tournament with three wins and remained in joint lead throughout the tournament.

Earlier in April, Sandipan had also finished joint first in the Dubai International open and after this performance here it looks as though UAE has become one of his favourite hunting ground.

Highest rated Indian in the fray, Abhijeet Gupta played out two draws in the last two rounds against Ivan Saric of Croatia and Zaven Andriasian of Armenia respectively to finish on 5.5 points and shared the tenth spot. International Master Vishnu Prasanna and GM Tejas Bakre were the next best Indian performers on five points each.

Important and Indian results final round (Indians unless specified): Surya Shekhar Ganguly (6.5) drew with Sandipan Chanda (6.5); Liem Le Quang (Vie, 6) beat Sergey Fedorchuk (Ukr, 6); Alexander Moiseenko (Ukr, 6.5) beat Jaan Ehlvest (Usa, 5.5); Baadur Jobava (Geo, 6) beat Etienne Bacrot (Fra, 5.5); Zaven Andriasian (Arm, 5.5) drew with Abhijeet Gupta (5.5); Ma Qun (Chn, 6) beat Safarli Eltaj (Aze, 5); Vishnu Prasanna (5) lost to Ivan Saric (Cro, 6); Andrey Sumets (Ukr, 6) beat Solak Dragan (Tur, 5); Gadir Guseinov (Aze, 5.5) drew with Ghaem Maghami Ehsan (Iri, 5.5); Ni Hua (Chn, 4.5) drew with Tejas Bakre (4.5); Vladislav Tkachiev (Fra, 5) beat Debashis Das (4); S Satyapragyan (4) lost to Yaroslav Zherebukh (Ukr, 4); Constantin Lupulescu (Rou, 5) beat Sagar Shah (4); Ashwin Jayaram (4.5); beat Anurag Mhamal (3.5); Aditya Udeshi (3.5) lost to Handszar Odeev (Tkm, 4.5); Maksat Atabayev (Tkm, 3.5) lost to Akshat Khamparia (4); Ankit Rajpara (4) beat Elarbi Abobker (Lba, 3): V Saravanan beat Salih Akar Ali Salih (Irq, 3); Nelson Mariano (Phi, 2.5) lost to Arjun Bharat (3.5). (PTI)


Design by Free WordPress Themes | Bloggerized by Lasantha - Premium Blogger Themes | Press Release Distribution