India's first chess features print magazine published quarterly from Lucknow since 2004 by Aspire Welfare Society.

Monday, January 14, 2013

GM Aleksej Aleksandrov wins 11th Parsvnath Delhi International Chess Festival Premier Section

NEW DELHI: Grandmaster Aleksej Aleksandrovof Belarus won the premier section of Parsvnath International Chess Festival after drawing with Grandmaster Henrik Teske of Germany in the 10th and final round on Sunday. Aleksandrov finished with eight points out of a possible 10, ahead of Marat Dzhumaev of Uzbekistan who finished second with best tiebreak score on 7.5 points.

It turned out to be a three-way tie for the second spot and Teske finished third while Indian Grandmaster Vaibhav Suri ended fourth.

Aleksandrov won the winner's purse of Rs 300000 while Dzhumaev took home Rs 200000. Among the Indians, Vaibhav Suri got the biggest prize purse of Rs 75000. Marat Dzhumaev defeated P Magesh Chandran while Vaibhav Suri ended the party of K Rathnakaran who had made a Grandmaster norm after winning the penultimate round.

M R Lalith Babu, Lu Shanglei of China and M Shyam Sundar finished in a tie for the fifth spot winning their final round games with Jahongir Vakhidov of Uzbekistan, Akshayraj Kore and Kiril Kuderinov of Kazakhstan respectively.

The tournament produced four International norms and the biggest beneficiary was 13-year old youngster Murali Karthikeyan who made his maiden Grandmaster norm.

Rathnakaran got the GM norm, Wang Doudou of China made a Women International Master norm while Rakesh Kulkarni won International Master norm.

The Delhi Chess Association felicitated four players with a cash award of Rs 25000 each. Grandmaster Abhijeet Gupta and Tania Sachdev were rewarded for their excellent show in the Chess Olympiad where they won individual medals while Sahaj Grover became the latest Grandmaster from Delhi.

Grandmaster Abhijeet Kunte was also rewarded for his contribution as the trainer of Indian women team in the Chess Olympiad. The Indian women team had finished best-ever fourth in the Chess Olympiad at Istanbul in Turkey. (PTI)



Design by Free WordPress Themes | Bloggerized by Lasantha - Premium Blogger Themes | Press Release Distribution